Back-office apps built on low-code platforms
Sell internal tools to AI? Read what your app builder's terms keep first
Years of approval flows, admin screens and the tables behind them sit inside internal-tool builders, each on its own contract. We read 28 documents from 17 of those platforms, newest on 2026-10-28, and 3 of them keep a right to use what you put in once it is pseudonymised, de-identified or aggregated.
Source: Internal tool software data terms: every row, with its source
- 3 of 17
- internal-tool platforms whose terms keep a pseudonymised, de-identified or aggregated use of your data (Internal tool software data terms: every row, with its source)
- 13 of 17
- builders whose own terms say the apps or data stay with the company (Internal tool software data terms: every row, with its source)
- 3 of 17
- builders that name a number of days to get your data out after you leave (Internal tool software data terms: every row, with its source)
- 2026-10-28
- newest read of the internal-tool platform terms on this board (Internal tool software data terms: every row, with its source)
Internal-tool platform terms on your apps and data, platform by platform
Last updated
One row per internal-tool or low-code platform, each answer resting on a sentence from the document named beside it. Not stated means the documents we read do not answer the question; varies means the platform's documents answer it differently.
- 3 of 17 internal-tool platforms whose terms we read keep a pseudonymised, de-identified or aggregated use of customer data, newest read 2026-10-28.(Internal tool software data terms: every row, with its source)
| Internal-tool platform | Who owns the apps and data | Keeps a pseudonymised or aggregated use | Trains AI on your data | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Airtable | the business | not stated | will not train | Master Subscription Agreement |
| Appsmith | the business | not stated | not stated | Terms and Conditions |
| Baserow | not stated | not stated | not stated | Terms and Conditions |
| Budibase | the business | not stated | not stated | Terms and Conditions |
| Glide | the business | not stated | may train | Terms of Service |
| Knack | the business | reserved | not stated | Terms of Service |
| Lovable | the business | reserved | opt-out offered | Terms of Service |
| Microsoft | not stated | not stated | not stated | Product Terms for Online Services |
| NocoDB | the business | not stated | will not train | Terms of Service |
| OutSystems | not stated | not stated | not stated | Data Processing Agreement |
| Quickbase | the business | not stated | not stated | Terms of Service |
| Replit | the business | not stated | not stated | Terms of Service |
| Retool | the business | not stated | varies by document | Customer Terms of Service |
| Superblocks | not stated | not stated | not stated | Master Services Agreement |
| ToolJet | the business | reserved | will not train | Terms of Use |
| Windmill | the business | not stated | not stated | Terms of Service |
| Zoho Creator | the business | not stated | not stated | Zoho Creator Terms |
Method and citation
Each vendor's own published terms were read through estate-fetch and stored whole (sha256 on every row). For every document, four questions were answered from the vendor's own words: who owns the business's data, vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use, training AI on the business's data, export at exit. Every stated answer carries the sentence it rests on, checked against the stored text; 'not stated' means the document read does not address the question. A vendor with several documents reads 'varies' where they disagree. 17 vendors, 28 documents.
“Internal-tool platform terms on your apps and data, platform by platform”, Sell Internal Tools to AI, https://sellinternaltoolstoai.com/ (updated 2026-10-28).
Three steps
- Say what your team built, which builder it runs on and whether the company is trading, closing or being sold.
- We read that builder's clauses on the board and the trade secret and ownership rules that sit over the work.
- We write back with the route that fits: a licence while you trade, a sale of the records by the directors of a company closing without a liquidator, or by the liquidator, administrator or trustee once one is appointed, or a route agreed with the adviser who sent you.
No app builder or buyer pays to appear on this site, and there are no affiliate links. Each answer is our reading of the published document, not legal advice on your contract. Our fee: if a company licenses or sells its tools or data to a buyer we introduced, it pays us 12.5% of the deal when we act as its exclusive agent, or about 10% when its data joins a bundle or the pool, agreed in writing first; any fee a buyer pays us is credited back to the company.
Tell us about the internal tools your company built
Straight answers
Can a company sell the internal tools it built on Retool or Airtable to an AI buyer?
It can license what it owns, and most builders leave ownership with the company: 13 of the 17 platforms on our board say so in their own terms. Airtable says the customer keeps all right, title and interest in Customer Data, and Retool says the customer will own its Custom Apps and Customer Data. The builder's code and components stay the builder's.(Internal tool software data terms: every row, with its source)
Do internal-tool builders train AI on the apps and tables customers make?
A few reserve the right in writing. Glide's terms give it the right to train artificial intelligence on your content and the structure of your apps unless your plan lets you opt out and you have; Lovable may train on customer data until you tell it not to; Retool's AI App Builder terms let it train on inputs and outputs on its Free, Team and Business plans, after advance notice and with a way to opt out. Airtable, NocoDB and ToolJet say they do not.(Internal tool software data terms: every row, with its source)
Which builders keep a right to use our data once it is anonymised?
3 of the 17 builders we read do. ToolJet's terms let it access and analyse customer data on a pseudonymised basis for any purpose it deems appropriate, Lovable may create de-identified or aggregated data from customer data and keep it perpetually, and Knack takes a perpetual licence to usage data, which its terms say includes AI inputs, in de-identified form.(Internal tool software data terms: every row, with its source)
How long do we have to get our data out after cancelling?
Airtable lets a customer download its data for thirty days after the agreement ends, Retool will provide a copy on request for up to thirty days, and Budibase gives temporary access or copies on a written request within thirty days. Knack's terms put exporting before termination on the customer. Export before any buyer conversation starts.(Internal tool software data terms: every row, with its source)
Is the logic in our internal tools a trade secret we can license?
It can be, if it is kept secret. US law protects business information whose owner has taken reasonable measures to keep it secret and that gains value from not being generally known; UK law asks for reasonable steps by the person in control of it. A licence for training has to carry confidentiality terms, or the information may stop being a secret in the sense the law requires.(Internal tool software data terms: every row, with its source)
Who owns an internal tool that an employee built?
Usually the company. In the UK an employer is the first owner of copyright in a work an employee makes in the course of employment, and in the US a work made for hire belongs to the employer. For a tool a contractor built, the company needs a signed written assignment to own it and license it on as owner.(Internal tool software data terms: every row, with its source)
What should we not try to sell?
The customer contact tables, HR and payroll records the tools display, and staff screen recordings. Buyers on our board ask for how work gets done: Mercor wants the tools you connect, micro1 names playbooks and sales processes, and Grepped asks for messages, docs, tickets and records with names stripped out.(Internal tool software data terms: every row, with its source)
Worth knowing
The longer answers, with sources.
Retool terms of service: who owns your apps and what it trains on
What Retool's terms of service, master subscription agreement and AI terms say about who owns your apps and data, AI training and getting data out after you leave.
Is software a trade secret? The rules for a company's own tools
Is software a trade secret? When a company's internal tools and the logic in them are protected in the US and UK, who owns them, and what a licence must keep secret.
Internal tool company closing or for sale? Buyers of its data
An internal tool company or a business with years of back-office apps: which buyers take tools and workflow data for AI training, and how a sale or shutdown changes it.
Internal tool builder terms: open source, hosted and AI app builders
Which internal tool builder keeps rights over your apps and data: open-source, hosted low-code and AI app builders compared on ownership and AI training.
Can I sell the software we built for ourselves? Yes, as code, if it's yours
Can I sell the software we built for ourselves? Which AI buyers take a company's own code, what they print, and who owns code staff and contractors wrote.
Sources
This site's own datasets, every figure quoted from its source and dated:
- Sell internal software to AI (10 figures): 6 of 10 buyers whose pages we read name source code, codebases or repositories among what they take, read 27 October 2026.
- Who takes internal tools and workflow records for AI: 8 of 12 organisations whose pages we read name software tools, workflows or business systems among what they take, read 27 October 2026.
- Internal tool software data terms: 3 of 17 internal tool software vendors whose terms we read reserve the right to use their customers' data in aggregated or anonymised form, read 28 October 2026.
- Trade secret and ownership rules for internal tools: 14 rules on trade secrets and the ownership of software that decide whether a company may license its internal tools, each quoted from the statute or the authority page, read 28 October 2026.